A different way to pay, and a different job.
Schedulers post what you have already made. Social Media Assistant plans it, makes it, checks it and posts it.
How the schedulers charge
Read from each vendor's own pricing page on 1 November 2026. Plans change; check the vendor's page before deciding.
| Product | Charges by | API access |
|---|---|---|
| Buffer | Channel | On every plan, with limits |
| Postiz (cloud) | Bundle of channels | On every plan |
| Hootsuite | User | Not stated on the page |
| Sprout Social | Seat | From the Advanced plan |
| Later | Social set | Not stated on the page |
| Planable | Workspace | Not stated on the page |
| SocialPilot | Account bundle | Enterprise only |
| Metricool | Brand bundle | Advanced plan only |
Where Social Media Assistant differs
| Typical scheduler | Social Media Assistant (planned) | |
|---|---|---|
| Price follows | Channels, seats, brands or workspaces | What is made, above a small base |
| Making the content | Done elsewhere, in other tools | Cards, video, avatar and voice made inside |
| Fit per platform | One file, posted to several places | A cut per platform, safe zones checked |
| Price shown | The plan price | Each job priced before it runs, with a cap |
Four ways to get your social media done
| Hire a freelancer or agency | Canva, yourself | ChatGPT, yourself | Social Media Assistant (planned) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Typical cost | UK freelancers about £250 to £1,200 a month; agencies from about £8001 | Canva Pro £100 a year2 | ChatGPT Plus about £20 a month3 | A small base plus pay per use (not yet set) |
| Your time each week | Low, plus briefing and chasing | High | Medium to high | One approve screen |
| Strategy behind each post | Depends who you hire | None built in | Only what you think to ask | Built in, on every post |
| Fitted to each platform | Usually | You resize by hand | You resize by hand | Done and checked |
| Looks like everyone else's | Rarely | Often: shared templates | Often: the AI look | Your brand kit, every post |
1. Whito UK social media management cost compilation, 2026. 2. canva.com UK pricing page, read 2 Nov 2026. 3. Reported by wise.com (Sept 2025); OpenAI's own page could not be read. Prices change; check the provider before deciding.
What users of today's tools report
Posts that never go out
Reviews on Trustpilot describe failed or silent posts on several schedulers, including ones marked as published.
Reconnecting by hand
Connections expire, and failed posts are not retried automatically after a reconnect, by one vendor's own help pages.
Finishing in the app
Some formats, tags and story stickers still have to be completed by hand on the phone.
From Trustpilot reviews and vendor help pages read on 2 Nov 2026. Reviews are reviewers' own accounts.
Who it is not for
If you post to one channel, make everything yourself and are happy with your scheduler, you don't need this. It is for businesses that want the content made and fitted to each platform, not only queued.